
Property Taxes 

The Treasurer’s Office is located on the 2
nd

 floor of the Blaine County Courthouse at 420 Ohio Street in Chinook, 
Montana.  This office is the collection and distribution center for taxes in Blaine County.  If you have questions in 
regards to paying taxes please call (406)357-3280. 

Due Dates 

Real Estate Taxes: November 30
th

 and May 31
st

 
Mobile Home Taxes: May 31

st
 and November 30

th
 

Personal Property Taxes: June 30
th

 
 
Understanding Property Tax Bills 

For detailed information on how your property is assessed for taxes visit the State of Montana’s Department of 
Revenue webpage http://revenue.mt.gov/home/individuals.aspx or call your Assessor’s Office at (406)357-3210. 

Tax Payments 

Your property taxes can be paid using cash, check, or credit card.  We will need your Tax ID number or we can 
search by owner’s name.  If you owe delinquent taxes for prior years, you will need to call or come into the office 
to get the correct amount due as penalty and interest accrue daily. 

Checks should be made payable to Blaine County Treasurer and mailed to PO Box 547 Chinook, MT 59523. 

Credit Card Payments 

We are now able to accept credit card payments through Official Payments.  To use this service, a convenience fee 
is charged.  The fee is 2.75% of the total bill plus $3.95. 

www.officialpayments.com 

Click on LOCAL PAYMENTS enter Jurisdiction Code: 3630 click on Make A Payment, and Enter Payment Type 

Tax Protest 

To pay your taxes under protest, your payment must be received by the due date.  You are required to submit a 
Letter of Protest for each tax bill at the time of payment.  Please be aware that your tax payment is processed 
immediately upon receipt; however the funds are not distributed until the protest is settled.  Paying under protest 
allows you 90 days to take further action and it is the responsibility of the taxpayer to pursue any action. 

Delinquent Tax Information 

The Delinquent Tax Report is updated monthly and can be viewed here or a hard copy is available for inspection at 
the Treasurer’s Office. 

Each year in July, a TAX LIEN SALE is held.  This is not an auction of property.  It is when the county takes lien on the 

properties for delinquent taxes, setting a sale date for purchasing the tax lien sale certificates on the date of sale 

and to make the properties available for assignment. 

Anyone interested in tax assignments and tax deeds should consult an attorney before investing time and money 
in this process. 

 

http://revenue.mt.gov/home/individuals.aspx
http://www.officialpayments.com/
file://storage02/public/Forms/PROTEST%20TAX%20FORM.doc
file://storage02/public/Forms/Tax%20Report%20Delinquent%2007142014.pdf


 


