ATTORNEY DEPARTMENT

Office Address

420 Ohio St. Third Floor
Chinook, Montana 59523

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 1567
Chinook, MT 59523

}

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Closed from 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.

County Attorney

Kelsie W. Harwood

Phone: 406-357-3220
Fax: 406-357-3114
kharwood@blainecounty-mt.gov

Deputy County Attorney

Vacant

Phone: 406-357-3220
Fax: 406-357-3114

Office Assistant

Rebecca Blankenship

Phone: 406-357-3220
Fax: 406-357-3114
rblankenship@blainecounty-mt.gov

CLERK & RECORDER

Clerk & Recorder / Assessor / Election Administrator

Tammy Williams

Phone: 406-357-3240
twilliams@blainecounty-mt.gov

Recording Clerk

Pauly B. Miller

Phone: 406-357-3240
pmiller@blainecounty-mt.gov

Deputy Clerk and Recorder/Elections Clerk

Savannah Wendeln 

Phone: 406-357-3240
swendeln@blainecounty-mt.gov

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Administrative Assistant

Tracy Thorstad

Phone: 406-357-3250
Fax: 406-357-2199
tthorstad@blainecounty-mt.gov

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 278
Chinook, MT 59523

}

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Commissioner

Dolores Plumage

End of Term: December 31, 2020
406-357-3250
dplumage@blainecounty-mt.gov

Commissioner - Chair

Frank DePriest

End of Term: December 31, 2022
406-357-3250
fdepriest@blainecounty-mt.gov

Commissioner

Miles Hutton

End of Term: December 31, 2024
406-357-3250
mhutton@blainecounty-mt.gov

CONSERVATION DISTRICT

Deputy Clerk

Shannon Sattleen
E-Mail: shannon.sattleen@mt.nacdnet.net

Advisors

Kailee Calnan – NRCS District Conservationist / Chinook Field Office
Julianne Snedigar – MSU Extension Agent - Advisor
Time Conlan– Blaine County Weed/Mosquito Surpervisor
Hunter VanDonsel – NRCS Wildlife Biologist / Pheasants Forever Consultant

Board of Supervisors

Bruce Anderson – Chair
Kurt Hansen – Vice Chair
Greg Jergeson– Treasurer
Gary Unruh
Dennis Mitchell
Larry Klingaman
Tyrel Obrecht – Urban Supervisor – Turner

Address

228 Ohio St. PO Box 189
Chinook, MT 59523

}

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday
8 a.m. to 12 p.m.

DISTRICT COURT

Blaine County District Court Contact Info

Address

420 Ohio Street
Chinook, MT 59523
(406) 357 – 3230

}

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Deputy Clerk

Jennifer Metcalf
P.O. Box 969
Chinook, MT 59523
jmetcalf@mt.gov
406-357-3230

Blaine County Clerk

Tami Mitchell
P.O. Box 969
Chinook, MT 59523
tmitchell@mt.gov
406-357-3230

District Court

Judge: Yvonne Laird

EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

Emergency Manager

Haley Velk

Disaster & Emergency

420 Ohio Street
Chinook, MT 59523
(406) 357 – 3310 

}

Hours

8 am to 5 pm
Monday through Friday

EMERGENCY Medical Services

Blaine County I Ambulance

Dan Friede, Co-Crew Chief
(406) 945-7474
chinooknapa@yahoo.com

Laurie Huestis, Co-Crew Chief
(406) 945-2393
lahuestisEMS@gmail.com

Blaine County II Ambulance

Steve Leitner, Crew Chief
(406) 379-2693
bigflatambulance@gmail.com

Blaine County III Ambulance

Karensa Calvert, Crew Chief
(406) 353-4637
pixelportrait@itstriangle.com

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SANITARIAN

Registered Sanitarian

Ron Andersen 

Cell: (406) 868-4957
rander@3riversdbs.net

Office Assistant

Lindsay Lowe

Phone: (406) 357-3310 
llowe@blainecounty-mt.gov

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 576
Chinook, MT 59523

FLOODPLAIN MANAGEMENT

WWC Engineering

1275 Maple Street, Suite F
Helena, MT 59601
406-443-3962
www.wwcengineering.com

Blaine County Contract Floodplain Administrator

Shawn Higley, P.E.,
shigley@wwcengineering.com

JUSTICE COURT

Harlem City Court

406-353-2361

Justice Court

PO Box 1266
420 Ohio Street
Chinook, MT 59523
(406) 357 – 2335
fax: 357 – 2361

}

Hours of Operation

The Honorable Judge Perry W. Miller presiding approximately 9am to 3pm, Monday through Friday.

Office open 8am to 5pm Monday through Friday.

Court held in Harlem City Hall on the 2nd and 4th Wednesday from approximately 10am until 12pm.

Justice of the Peace

Perry W. Miller

Court Clerk

Jim Doyle

Compliance Officer

Cindy Dennis

LOCAL ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR MENTAL HEALTH

Chair

Jana McPherson-Hauer 

Vice Chair

Tina Mord

Secretary

Haley Velk

Treasurer

Deb Anderson

MOSQUITO & WEED

Mosquito Control Supervisor

Tim Conlan
4th & Montana St
PO Box 1212
Chinook, MT 59523
(406) 357 – 2340
tconlan@blainecounty-mt.gov

Assistant Supervisor

}

Hours

May vary due to weather

Weed Coordinator

Tim Conlan
PO Box 1212
Chinook, MT 59523
(406)357-2340
tconlan@blainecounty-mt.gov

 

Assistant

Shane Fox 
PO Box 1212
Chinook, MT 59523
(406) 357-2340
sfox@blainecounty-mt.gov

}

Hours

Hours vary

PROPERTY APPRAISAL

Property Appraisal Contact Info

}

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Phone

If you are traveling quite a distance it may be to your advantage to call ahead to 406-265-5481.

Public Health

Health Officer

Jana McPherson-Hauer, RN, BSN
Blaine County Health Department

Business Supervisor and Lead Health Educator

Health Supervisor and Lead Local Health Official

Jana McPherson-Hauer, RN, BSN
jhauer@blainecounty-mt.gov

Program and Billing Assistant

Administrative Assistant

Public Health Nurse

Valerie Beck, RN, BSN
vbeck@blainecounty-mt.gov

ROAD DEPARTMENT

Road Department Contact Info

Mark Burkhartsmeyer
Road Supervisor
mburkhartsmeyer@blainecounty-mt.gov
Phone: 406-357-2840

Lindsay Lowe
Administrative Assistant
llowe@blainecounty-mt.gov
Phone: 406-357-2840

Phone: 406-353-2941

Phone: 406-379-2271

Phone: 406-379-2274

SHERIFF & CORONER

Sheriff Department

420 Ohio Street
PO Box 8
Chinook, MT 59523
(406) 357 – 3260
fax: 357 – 2824

County Coroner

420 Ohio Street
Chinook, MT 59523
406-357-3260
Hours: hours vary

Department Phone Directory

Main Number: 406-357-3260
SVOR Department: 406-357-3903
Civil Department: 406-357-3903
Dispatch: 406-357-3260
Main Fax: 406-357-2824

Sheriff

John Colby
jcolby@blainecounty-mt.gov

John Colby started his career in Law Enforcement with the Blaine County Sheriff's Department in 1996 as a Detention Officer/Dispatcher. In 1998 he began working with the Harlem Police Department where he served as a patrolman and later as the Chief of Police. In 2001 Harlem consolidated its law enforcement with the Blaine County Sheriff's Department and John Colby remained as a Deputy Sheriff. In 2002 John accepted a job with the Williston Police Department and served as a patrolman and later as a senior patrolman. In 2007 John left the Williston Police Department and went to work for Dyn-Corp in Konduz Afghanistan training the Afghanistan Nation Police. In March 2010 John was returned to Chinook and accepted a position as a Deputy Sheriff with the Blaine County Sheriff's Department. John was promoted to the Lieutenant of the Blaine County Sheriff's Department in 2012. John is one of the Taser Instructor's, Field Training Officer, K9 Handler, and was recently assigned to the Tri-Agency Drug Task Force. John and his wife Dawn have two children JJ, and Aspyn.

Undersheriff

Chris Adair
cadair@blainecounty-mt.gov

Deputy Chris Adair has been with the Blaine County Sheriff’s Office since August of 2012. Since then he has become the Field Training Officer, Firearms Instructor, Armorer, Deputy Coroner, and the Senior Operator for Blaine County’s breath alcohol testing equipment. He also is the DUI Task Force Coordinator. He lives in Chinook with his wife and 2 sons. Previous to living here they were residents of Flathead County.

Sergeant

Deputy

Levi Gonzalez
lgonzalez@blainecounty-mt.gov

Deputy Levi Gonzalez joined the Blaine County Sheriff's Department in January 2018. Levi studied Criminal Justice at Utah Valley University and Excelled in courses such as Criminal Justice, Forensics, and Criminal Law. Along with some formal education, he has trained with professional firearms instructors, and in hand-to-hand combat, to help him pursue his career in law enforcement. He moved to Montana with his wife in March of 2013 and owns a small ranch in Blaine County where he runs a small cow/calf operation. He looks forward to serving Blaine County, where he is happy to call home, with his wife, daughter and son, for many years to come.

Deputy

Deputy

Deputy

Deputy


 

Admin. Officer

Administrative Assistant

Debbie Gomke 

dgomke@blainecounty.gov 

Retired K9

Robo

Robo joined the Blaine County Sheriff's Office in October of 2013. He resides with his handler Sheriff John Colby.

SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS

General Contact Info

}

Hours open

Monday-Friday 8:00 AM-5:00 PM;
closed on legal holidays.

Location

Blaine County Courthouse, Room 135 on the 2nd floor.

Phone numbers

406-357-3270
406-357-2307
Fax: 406-357-2199

Z

Duties of County Superintendent

SUBDIVISION PLANNING

Blaine County Contract Planner

Jeremy Fadness, P.E.
jfadness@wwcengineering.com

Blaine County Contract Examining Land Surveyor

Jake Ziska, P.L.S.
jziska@wwcengineering.com

TREASURER

Treasurer Dept Contact Info

Treasurer

Deputy Treasurer

Motor Vehicle & Tax Clerk

Motor Vehicle & Tax Clerk

}

Office Hours

Monday-Friday, 8 A.M.-5 P.M.

Closed on legal holidays

Contact Info

Mailing Address:
PO Box 547 Chinook, MT 59523

Phone: 406-357-3280

Fax: 406-357-2199

YOUTH COURT

}

Juvenile Probation/Youth Court Services

17th Judicial District Youth Court Services
The Blaine County office is located on the lower level of the Courthouse in Room 53.

Hours: 8 am to 5 pm

Juvenile Probation Officer

Blaine County
Tina M. Mord
PO Box 1536
Chinook MT 59523
(406) 357-2369 
(406) 945-1917
tmord2@mt.gov

Deputy Juvenile Probation Officer

Valley County

(406) 228-6265

Office Assistant

(406) 654-2087

Office Assistant

Blaine County

Kirsten Matkin

(406) 357-2369 
(406) 357-2370 fax
Kirsten.Matkin@mt.gov

Our Office

Blaine County Courthouse
420 Ohio St
Chinook, MT 59523

Office Hours

Mon-Fri: 8am - 5pm
Sat-Sun: Closed